Basic Message Encryption is included in 10 plans, the cheapest plan in Microsoft’s plan comparisons from £9.30 per user and month (EMS E3).Microsoft 365 F1 includes it from £2.30 per user and month — but Microsoft sells frontline plans only for frontline workers.
Send encrypted email to anyone, inside or outside the organisation, including Do Not Forward and encrypt-only options. Microsoft Learn ↗
Included in
- Microsoft 365 F1£2.30 per user / month, annual, excl. VATMicrosoft product page ↗Licence detailsSource: Microsoft plan comparison (Enterprise, 1 September 2026), page 8
- Microsoft 365 F3£7.70 per user / month, annual, excl. VATMicrosoft product page ↗Licence detailsSource: Microsoft plan comparison (Enterprise, 1 September 2026), page 8
- Enterprise Mobility + Security E3£9.30 per user / month, annual, excl. VATMicrosoft product page ↗Licence detailsSource: Microsoft plan comparison (Enterprise, 1 September 2026), page 8
- Enterprise Mobility + Security E5£13.90 per user / month, annual, excl. VATMicrosoft product page ↗Licence detailsSource: Microsoft plan comparison (Enterprise, 1 September 2026), page 8
- Microsoft 365 Business Premium£16.90 per user / month, annual, excl. VATMicrosoft product page ↗Licence detailsSource: Microsoft plan comparison (Business, 1 September 2026), page 6
- Office 365 E3£23.30 per user / month, annual, excl. VATMicrosoft product page ↗Licence detailsSource: Microsoft plan comparison (Enterprise, 1 September 2026), page 8
- Microsoft 365 E3£33.50 per user / month, annual, excl. VATMicrosoft product page ↗Licence detailsSource: Microsoft plan comparison (Enterprise, 1 September 2026), page 8
- Office 365 E5£36.80 per user / month, annual, excl. VATMicrosoft product page ↗Licence detailsSource: Microsoft plan comparison (Enterprise, 1 September 2026), page 8
- Microsoft 365 E5£51.60 per user / month, annual, excl. VATMicrosoft product page ↗Licence detailsSource: Microsoft plan comparison (Enterprise, 1 September 2026), page 8
- Microsoft 365 E7£81.60 per user / month, annual, excl. VATMicrosoft product page ↗Licence detailsSource: Microsoft plan comparison (Enterprise, 1 September 2026), page 8
Data location and encryption
This page states which plans include Basic Message Encryption, as Microsoft lists it in its plan comparisons; it does not state where Microsoft stores your data. For data location, see Advanced Data Residency
Microsoft’s plan comparisons have no row for Double Key Encryption or Multi-Geo, so ClearSource does not state which plans include them.
Microsoft’s licence list has a Multi-Geo product: Office 365 Multi-Geo Capabilities — No UK price on file
Microsoft’s documentation
- Microsoft 365 data locations ↗Microsoft Learn · 3 September 2026
- Overview of Product Terms Data Residency ↗Microsoft Learn · 14 September 2026
- Advanced data residency in Microsoft 365 ↗Microsoft Learn · 18 May 2026
Want quotes for these licences?
Free and without obligation: ClearSource gathers quotes for you from checked IT partners in the UK. Nothing happens until you confirm by email.
ClearSource restates Microsoft’s published facts in its own layout; for the full details open Microsoft’s documents. Prices are Microsoft’s UK list prices in pounds.